Michael J. Thomas: City Beat (2010) MP3/Flac

City Beat is an instrumental R&B-pop collection that chronicles Thomas’ joyful discovery, eager exploration and adventurous wanderings in sprawling metropolises such as New York City, Chicago, Los Angeles and Bangkok, Thailand. Sophisticatedly cool and cosmopolitan, “Midtown Manhattan� opens the album on which Thomas wields a tenor, alto and soprano sax. A gorgeous melody laid over the pitter-patter of a gentle brushed drum beat, “Wedding Song (Forever Always)� poignantly pledges eternal love. Thomas is backed on the record by a taut rhythm section comprised of bassist Eric Lampley and drummer Jonathan Davis who laid down the funk on “30-A Degrees.� A huge Michael Jackson fan, Thomas decided to cover the gloved one’s most famous song, “Billie Jean� a year ago. Aside from adding a haunting ambient intro, the track is faithful to the original version. Thomas’ lustful soprano sax seduces on the sensual “Pretty Skin.� On “Mind Your Step,� Wallace’s electric guitar riffs combine with the rhythm section to create a deep-pocketed groove that is ignited further by the gritty urban sound of turntable pyrotechnics. Thomas indulges his newfound love for wine on “Amante Del Vino.� Keyboardist Diki Ross helps welcome Thomas “Back Home,� a warm and cozy ballad. Closing with “Cali Trippin’,� Wallace’s wailing electric guitar and Paul Scurto’s classy trumpet solos spark the journey piloted by Thomas’ tenor.
01. Midtown Manhattan
02. City Beat
03. Wedding Song (Forever Always)
04. 30-A Degrees
05. Billie Jean
06. Pretty Skin
07. Mind Your Step
08. Amante Del Vino
09. Back Home
10. Cali Trippin'
City Beatalt
/ Hotfile @ 320K