« Geordie - Don't Be Fooled by T...
Miller Anderson - Bright City ... »
Samantha Jones - A Girl Named Sam (Great Album UK 1970)

Samantha Jones - A Girl Named Sam (Great Album UK 1970)

• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    



Album Info

Size: 77.2 MB
Bitrate: 256
Ripped by: ChrisGoesRock
Artwork Included
Source: Japan 24-Bit Remaster

Jean Owen (born 17 November 1943), known as Samantha Jones is an English singer from Liverpool, whose career in show business spanned the mid-1960s through the early 1980s. She won three international pop music contests and charted records in the Benelux countries. Her recordings later experienced a revival on the Northern soul scene.

Jean Owen started her career in 1961 as part of popular English vocal group The Vernons Girls. During her time with the group, the line-up went from sixteen members to just three girls. The Vernons Girls enjoyed a couple of top 40 hits, including "Lover Please", "Only You Can Do It," (also released by Françoise Hardy) and recorded one of the first Beatles tribute songs, "We Love The Beatles". They also opened for The Beatles several times and appeared with them in a TV special, "Around The Beatles".

In 1964, with the help of producer Charles Blackwell, Jean went solo and signed with the international record label United Artists, who gave her the stage name Samantha Jones. Her first TV performance as a solo performer was a duet with Long John Baldry on 20 November 1964, with whom she had also duetted in Around the Beatles while a member of the Vernons Girls. She released several unsuccessful 45s (amongst them "Surrounded By A Ray Of Sunshine," later a staple on the Northern soul circuit). Two of Samantha Jones' songs were covered by Françoise Hardy and released on the LP known as L’Amitié. In 1967, two of Samantha Jones's performances were included in the soundtrack of the film The Vengeance of Fu Manchu. Her first album Call It Samantha was released in US only in 1968.

Samantha Jones switched to UK label Penny Farthing in 1969 and recorded her second album A Girl Named Sam with the producer Mark Wirtz. The performance of one of the tracks, the chugging "Today (Without You)" brought Samantha Jones the Grand Prix of the Radio-TГ©lГ© Luxembourg in October 1969 and charted in Belgium and the Netherlands. A year later, Jones won the music festival held in Knokke-Heist with a version of "My Way", which subsequently reached #3 on the Dutch charts. In 1988, the track was included in the compilation album World Stars - 28 Greatest Artists Of The World.

On 15 July 1970, Samantha Jones made a guest appearance on The Morecambe & Wise Show, performing "You've Got Your Troubles". Later in 1970, she released her third LP The Other Jones. Samantha Jones appeared on the 5 June 1971 edition of the Disco TV series aired in West Germany on the ZDF network. Her success in continental Europe continued with winning the 1st prize in the Sopot International Song Festival held in 26–29 August 1971 in Poland. In 1973, she recorded the song "Man Is a Hunter" for the film Commuter Husbands. After that, she switched labels again, this time to EMI, and released two albums with the veteran producer Walter J. Ridley.

By then, Samantha Jones had become a known cabaret act and performed on cruise ships including the RMS Queen Elizabeth 2. All the while, Samantha Jones sang on numerous BBC radio shows. In 1982, the Dutch label Dureco released the album Goin' Places. She ceased singing in 1986 and became a producer placing numerous musical production shows on cruise lines until she sold her interest in the mid-1990s. In 1986 Samantha became close to showbiz accountant Jose Goumal (who had been her professional adviser since 1970), they moved in together and married 1998. Today, Jean Owen lives with her husband in London and Henley-on-Thames.

01. The Feeling That I Get
02. Until Tomorrow
03. Today (Without You)
04. Taking the Heart Out of Love
05. I'll Never Fall in Love Again
06. I Go to Sleep
07. Do I Still Figure in Your Life
08. In the Morning
09. Come to Me Slowly
10. Put a Little Love in Your Heart
11. I'm Sorry But I Think I Love You
12. You Make Me Feel Like a Natural Woman

1. http://rapidshare.com/files/385910100/Samantha_Jones.rar

The album code is : ODI158329

David Ball - Sparkle City (2010) | A Few Good Men – A Lil | Paul Young - No Parlez (Vinyl LP Album) 1983 | VA-Godskitch | Lee McDonald - Sweet Magic (Vinyl LP Album) (1981) | , popsike , discogs , cdandlp , musicstack Osanna – Pape Satan Aleppe (2016) The Lew Thomas Band - Walks, Talks & Fallouts (2016) Wild Cherry - Wild Cherry (1976) Wild Cherry - Electrified Funk (1977) Locomotive Man - The Coming Storm (2015) Wild Cherry - I Love My Music (1978) VA - Elicuts Vol. 1 (2016) Future Beat Alliance - Hidden Emotion (2016) VA - Secret Map v.I (2016) Fleetwood Mac & Peter Green - Fleetwood Mac & Peter Green (2CD) (2008) Kay Webb Orchestra - Gitarrentraume In Gold (1979) Jack Fred with Band - Mood Music / Saxophon (2003) Golden Nightingale Orchestra - Golden Accordeon Melodies (1988) Achillea - The Nine Worlds (2005) MP3 + Lossless Lava "Lava" (1980) -Westcoast Jazz- Giuffria "Giuffria" (1984) - Melodic Rock- Mark Free "Long Way From Love" (1993) -AOR / Soft Rock- Giorgio Moroder Featuring Joe Esposito "Solitary Men" (1983) -Disco / Soft Rock- Rob Silvan & Fine Line "Leap Of Faith" (1996) -Soft Rock- Boy Meets Girl Music "The Wonderground" (2003) -Soft Rock- Various Artists "Re-Import (Guide Of The Japanese Music)" (1992) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories 3" (1994) -Westcoast Rock- A Spice Of Ice - I Need Your Lovin' - Complete EP Nightlife Unlimited - I Love The Night In New York City - Complete LP Marva King - Feels Right - Complete LP Voyage - Voyage 3 - Complete LP Jean Adebambo - Feelings - Complete LP

You would like to permanently remove ads and unlock benefits?

We display ads sparingly on website to help cover costs without interfering with the browsing experience.
Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on OdiMusic. Register on OdiMusic allows you to access to the minimum resources, minimum advertising (no pop-ups),
if you choose to subscribe for one of our plans after registration you can acces more than 1.000.000 Albums, Maxi, Cds, Vinyls releases inside! (80% on demand) (requests, informations, images, tracklists, reviews, ask for supports & much more!!!)