Big Brother & The Holding Company - Cheap Trills (US 1968) MP3/Flac

Size: 109 MB
Bitrate: 256
Ripped by: ChrisGoesRock
Artwork Included
Japan 24-Bit Remaster

Cheap Thrills is the second album from Big Brother and the Holding Company and their only studio album with Janis Joplin as primary lead vocalist.

In 2003, the album was ranked number 338 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time. The cover was drawn by underground cartoonist Robert Crumb. It is number 9 on Rolling Stone's list of 100 greatest album covers.

The album debuted at the number one spot and stayed there for weeks while the single, "Piece of My Heart," also became a huge hit.

Initially, the album was to be called Sex, Dope and Cheap Thrills, but the title was not received well by Columbia Records.

"Piece of My Heart" is a song written by Jerry Ragovoy and Bert Berns and originally recorded by Erma Franklin in 1967. The song came to mainstream attention when Janis Joplin and Big Brother and the Holding Company covered the song in 1968 on their album Cheap Thrills and had a hit with it. The song has since been remade by several singers, including hit versions by Faith Hill in 1994 and Beverley Knight in 2006.

In 2004, the Big Brother and the Holding Company version of this song was ranked number three hundred and forty-four on Rolling Stones list of the 500 Greatest Songs of All Time. The song is also included among The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame's 500 Songs that Shaped Rock and Roll.

The original version of "Piece of My Heart" was recorded by Aretha Franklin's older sister Erma in 1967. The song was a top ten R&B hit in the U.S., and also peaked at number sixty-two on the U.S. Pop Singles chart. However, in the UK, the actual single was not released until 1992, when it peaked inside the UK Singles Chart at number nine.

The song became popular, however, when recorded by Big Brother and the Holding Company in 1968, with lead singer Janis Joplin. The song was taken from the group's album Cheap Thrills, recorded in 1968 and released on Columbia Records. This rendition made it to number twelve on the U.S. pop chart.

Franklin said in an interview that when she first heard Joplin's version on the radio, she didn't recognize it because of the vocal arrangement. Noted cultural writer Ellen Willis wrote of the difference: "When Franklin sings it, it is a challenge: no matter what you do to me, I will not let you destroy my ability to be human, to love. Joplin seems rather to be saying, surely if I keep taking this, if I keep setting an example of love and forgiveness, surely he has to understand, change, give me back what I have given". In such a way, Joplin used blues conventions not to transcend pain, but "to scream it out of existence".

01. "Combination of the Two" (Sam Andrew) – 5:47
02. "I Need a Man to Love" (Andrew, Joplin) – 4:54
03. "Summertime" (George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin, DuBose Heyward) – 4:00
04. "Piece of My Heart" (Bert Berns, Jerry Ragovoy) – 4:15
05. "Turtle Blues" (Joplin) – 4:22
06. "Oh, Sweet Mary" (Peter Albin, Andrew, David Getz, James Gurley, Joplin) – 4:16
07. "Ball and Chain" (Big Mama Thornton) – 9:37
08. "Roadblock" (studio outtake)
09. "Flower in the Sun" (studio outtake)
10. "Catch Me Daddy" (live)
11. "Magic of Love" (live)

This album(s) is currently available for download only with a Premium account. To get a premium account, click here