Blue Cheer - The Original Human Being (Classic Album US 1970) MP3/Flac

Size: 87.5 MB
Bitrate: 256
Ripped by: ChrisGoesRock
Artwork Incuded
Japan 24-Bit Remaster

Blue Cheer appeared in spring 1968 with a thunderously loud remake of Eddie Cochran's "Summertime Blues" that many regard as the first true heavy-metal record. One of the first hard-rock power trios, the group was named for an especially high-quality strain of LSD. Its manager, Gut, was an ex-Hell's Angel.

After moving to San Francisco, the band was taken under the wing of an enthusiastic DJ, Abe "Voco" Kesh of underground KMPX-FM. He aired a three-song tape of Blue Cheer, leading to a contract with Philips Records. “Summertime Blues� reached #14, while the trio’s first album, Vincebus Eruptum, hit #11 and remains something of a heavy-metal landmark. None of the group’s subsequent five albums had nearly the same impact, however, and in 1971 Peterson, the lone original member left, broke up the band.

Leigh Stephens, who now raises Thoroughbreds in California, recorded two solo albums, another with the band Silver Metre, and two more with Bruce Stephens; he too has released a solo album, 1982’s Watch That First Step. Peterson has twice put together new versions of Blue Cheer, in 1979 and 1985. The second attempt, which included Whaley and guitarist Tony Rainier, son of an original Blue Cheer roadie, produced an album, The Beast Is Back. With Peterson still at the helm but Whaley gone, Blue Cheer has put out two more LPs in Europe.

Blue Cheer exploded upon the scene with absolutely no apologies, covering Eddie Cochran's "Summertime Blues" from the vital initial "Vincebus Eruptum" . This pivotal and groundbreaking album forged new territory in San Francisco Bay Area rock which introduced heavy metal and experimental guitar sound that was the blueprint for its entire genre. The "power trio" of Dickie Peterson, Leigh Stephens and Paul Whaley founded a style of experimentation that ushered in daring and HEAVY SOUNDS for decades to come.

Enter, on "The Original Human Being", guitarist Gary Yoder -bringing his creative genius from the excellent groups Oxford Circle and KAK - to the forefront of Blue Cheer. Forging ahead with totally new musical design on every album they created, Blue Cheer never needed to repeat themselves musically!

Gary Yoder so well understood the psychedelic scene that he was able to compose an entirely innovative dimension to Cheer with founding member Dickie Peterson; in addition, utilizing the talents of Norman Mayell and Ralph Burns Kellogg who contributed so much instrumentally and composition-wise, i.e. "Babaji - Twilight Raga" (a gorgeous sitar rock number that is amazing indeed). This is at once a hard rocking, sensual, melodious, funky, & well executed record that deserves serious study.

This well crafted and representative project displays an epitome of San Francisco psychedelia.

Blue Cheer is best understood by appreciatang each respective album viewed as its own entity, and appreciated as music that ranks among the most innovative of every style presented.

01. Good Times Are So Hard to Find
02. Love of a Woman
03. Make Me Laugh
04. Pilot
05. Babaji (Twilight Raga)
06. Preacher
07. Black Sun
08. Tears in My Bed
09. Man on the Run
10. Sandwich
11. Rest at Ease

This album(s) is currently available for download only with a Premium account. To get a premium account, click here