Oldies Gold-ies Medley
• Year : 0
• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    



Album Info

altShared by Dario. Thank you very much.

1. Things Ain't What They Used to Be
2. Please Send Me Someone to Love
3. Take the "A" Train
4. At Last
5. I'd Rather Drink Muddy Water
6. Don't Go to Strangers
7. Chains of Love
8. All of Me
9. Mean to Me
10. I Let a Song Go Out of My Heart
11. They Call Me Sundown
12. I'll Be Seeing You

Review by Scott Yanow

Barbara Morrison has long been a familiar figure in the Los Angeles area, singing blues, standards, and R&B-ish/jazz material with spirit and feeling. Live at the Dakota teams her at a Minnesota concert with a perfect backup group from the East Coast consisting of tenor saxophonist Houston Person, pianist Junior Mance, bassist Earl May, and drummer Jackie Williams. Most of the selections, such as "Please Send Me Someone to Love," "At Last," and "I'd Rather Drink Muddy Water," are quite familiar, as are the swing standards, but these renditions sound fresh and contain their own surprises. Every song is full of soul, including a slower than usual "Mean to Me," "Don't Go to Strangers," the passionate blues "They Call Me Sundown," and the hardest swinging version of "I'll Be Seeing You" that one will ever hear. Also interesting are the singer's close imitations of both Big Joe Turner and Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson on the blues "Chains of Love." Both Barbara Morrison and the all-star cast clearly inspire each other during the singer's definitive recording. Highly recommended.


The album code is : ODI154787

Bill Connors - Double Up 1986 | Atomic – Nostal Fact (2013) | Anathema – Universal Live (2013) | Tonyboy - | American Diary – Rough | , popsike , discogs , cdandlp , musicstack Osanna – Pape Satan Aleppe (2016) The Lew Thomas Band - Walks, Talks & Fallouts (2016) Wild Cherry - Wild Cherry (1976) Wild Cherry - Electrified Funk (1977) Locomotive Man - The Coming Storm (2015) Wild Cherry - I Love My Music (1978) VA - Elicuts Vol. 1 (2016) Future Beat Alliance - Hidden Emotion (2016) VA - Secret Map v.I (2016) Fleetwood Mac & Peter Green - Fleetwood Mac & Peter Green (2CD) (2008) Kay Webb Orchestra - Gitarrentraume In Gold (1979) Jack Fred with Band - Mood Music / Saxophon (2003) Golden Nightingale Orchestra - Golden Accordeon Melodies (1988) Achillea - The Nine Worlds (2005) MP3 + Lossless Lava "Lava" (1980) -Westcoast Jazz- Giuffria "Giuffria" (1984) - Melodic Rock- Mark Free "Long Way From Love" (1993) -AOR / Soft Rock- Giorgio Moroder Featuring Joe Esposito "Solitary Men" (1983) -Disco / Soft Rock- Rob Silvan & Fine Line "Leap Of Faith" (1996) -Soft Rock- Boy Meets Girl Music "The Wonderground" (2003) -Soft Rock- Various Artists "Re-Import (Guide Of The Japanese Music)" (1992) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories 3" (1994) -Westcoast Rock- A Spice Of Ice - I Need Your Lovin' - Complete EP Nightlife Unlimited - I Love The Night In New York City - Complete LP Marva King - Feels Right - Complete LP Voyage - Voyage 3 - Complete LP Jean Adebambo - Feelings - Complete LP

You would like to permanently remove ads and unlock benefits?

We display ads sparingly on website to help cover costs without interfering with the browsing experience.
Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on OdiMusic. Register on OdiMusic allows you to access to the minimum resources, minimum advertising (no pop-ups),
if you choose to subscribe for one of our plans after registration you can acces more than 1.000.000 Albums, Maxi, Cds, Vinyls releases inside! (80% on demand) (requests, informations, images, tracklists, reviews, ask for supports & much more!!!)