Ahmad Jamal: Bright, Blue and Beautiful (1968) MP3/Flac

"Sounds cheesy -- but this is a pretty wonderful album, the kind that really gets at the dark genius of Jamal! Ahmad's trio with Frank Gant and Jamil Sulieman is joined by the Howard A Roberts Chorale, set to arrangements by Jamal and Joe Kennedy that create these dreamy pillows of sound, pushing the voices forward like piles of feathers, supporting Ahmad's lines on piano with amazing subtlety, evoking a really moody late night sound. Richard Evans produced, and the whol thing has that sophisticated groove of the best late 60s Cadet work. Titles include "Never Let Me Go", "Wild Is The Wind", "Yesterdays", "Of Bass I Love", and "By Myself" ~ Dusty Groove's Review
Ahmad Jamal (piano)
Jamil Sulieman (bass)
Frank Gant (drums)
Voices: The Howard A. Roberts Chorale
01 Wild Is The Wind
02 Ballad For Beverly
03 Of Bass I Love
04 Yesterdays
05 I Wish I Knew (How It Would Feel To Be Free)
06 At Long Last Love
07 Never Let Me Go
08 Gypsies In The Wind
09 Lover Man
10 By Myself
/ Megaupload @ 320K