« Len Chandler - To Be a Man & T...
John Blair - Mystical Soul (19... »
Seraffyn - Of Love, Of War, Of Many Things (1964)

Seraffyn - Of Love, Of War, Of Many Things (1964)

Oldies Gold-ies Medley
• Year : 0
• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    



Album Info

Seraffyn (last name Mork) is, according to his record cover, the "last, great troubador." Now he is certainly not the last, and is greatness is arguable (although the album is entertaining enough), but he certainly seems to have been a troubadour, and a wandering one at that (again according to the record cover). He also was born & raised in New England (not Old Scotland), graduated from Harvard and the Royal Academy of Dramatic Arts, and in 1953 won the Folksong Award at the International Eisteddford in Wales.

Seraffyn does a fine job at singing and occassionally speaking his way through some good folk material, an Edward Lear poem, and a song from the Fantasticks (i.e., Early One Morning). Most of the material, though, is British (as from the British Isles) with some particularly stirring tracks on the first side. A few of the selections, particularly the version of the Owl & the Pussycat (a guy has a romantic dinner and sings to his girlfriend, "What a beautiful pussy you are? WTF?) fall short of the standard set by the first few tracks and seem a bit silly by comparison. Still the record is a notch above your average folk record from the period and one has to wonder what happened to Seraffyn, who does not appear to have released anything after this.

Here's the tracklist
1. The War Song of Dinas Fawr (Men of Harleach)
2. Will Ye No Come Back Again
3. The Bonnie Earl O'Mowry
4. The Song of Wandering Aengus
5. Try to Remember
6. Early One Morning
7. The Road to the Isles
8. Little Tiny Boy
9. The Cowboy's Lament
10. The Owl and the Pussycat
11. Cock Robin

The recording is in mono & the MP3s are encoded with a high quality VBR. Unfortunately there are a couple brief skips (covered over as best I could) on the track "Little Tiny Boy." Listen here or here.

The album code is : ODI147663

bettina wehner | Reale | Rehabilitation Blues - Scott H. Biram | Silicon Dream - Time Machine (2009) | Matia Bazar - Elettrochoc (Vinyl12/ | , popsike , discogs , cdandlp , musicstack Lumen - Хроника Бешеных Дней (2016) The Hero - Miracles (2016) Eddy Malm Band - Northern Lights 2016 Larry Carlton & Steve Lukather - At Blue Note Tokyo (Live) (2016) Ralph Carmichael And The Young People – I Looked For Love (1970) Pictish Trail - Future Echoes (2016) Keith Jarrett - Bop-Be (1977/2015) [HDTracks] Tony Banks - A Curious Feeling (2016) [Remastered] HDtracks Vladimir Ashkenazy - Bach: Italian Concerto, French Overture, Aria Variata (2014) [HDTracks] Yvonne Elliman - Night Flight / Yvonne (2016) AC/DC - Transmission Impossible Legendary Broadcasts From The 1970s (2016) Johnny Bristol - Hang On In There Baby (1974/2016) Ike & Tina Turner - What You Hear Is What You Get (1971/2012) Matt Berry - The Small Hours (2016) Rupert Holmes "Rainy Night In Georgia" (1980) -Soft Rock- Rupert Holmes "Adventure" (1980) -Westcoast Rock / Soft Rock Rupert Holmes "Rupert Holmes" (1975) -Soft Rock- Lindsey Webster "Back To Your Heart" (2016) -Westcoast Soul- Lindsey Webster "You Change" (2015) -Westcoast Soul- Lindsey Webster "Lindsey Webster" (2013) -Westcoast Jazz / Soft Rock- Lava "Lava" (1980) -Westcoast Jazz- Giuffria "Giuffria" (1984) - Melodic Rock- Anli Sugano - Just Groovin' - Complete LP A Spice Of Ice - I Need Your Lovin' - Complete EP Nightlife Unlimited - I Love The Night In New York City - Complete LP Marva King - Feels Right - Complete LP Voyage - Voyage 3 - Complete LP

You would like to permanently remove ads and unlock benefits?

We display ads sparingly on website to help cover costs without interfering with the browsing experience.
Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on OdiMusic. Register on OdiMusic allows you to access to the minimum resources, minimum advertising (no pop-ups),
if you choose to subscribe for one of our plans after registration you can acces more than 1.000.000 Albums, Maxi, Cds, Vinyls releases inside! (80% on demand) (requests, informations, images, tracklists, reviews, ask for supports & much more!!!)