City Of Angels (1975) MP3/Flac

The Miracles - City Of Angels (1975)

City of Angels by The Miracles, released on Motown Records' Tamla label in September 1975. The group's fourth album recorded after replacing lead singer Smokey Robinson with Billy Griffin in 1972, City of Angels is a concept album, depicting of a man from "Anytown, U.S.A." who follows his estranged girlfriend Charlotte to Los Angeles, where she has gone in hopes of becoming a star. All of the tracks on the album were written by Billy Griffin and Miracles bass singer Pete Moore. Freddie Perren and Moore served as the album's producers.
The album's first single, Love Machine, peaked at number-one on the Billboard Hot 100, and was a multi-million-selling Platinum single, becoming the most successful single of The Miracles' career. Its success conicided with the rise of the disco craze of the late 1970s. Another song on City of Angels, Ain't Nobody Straight in L.A., caused controversy due to addressing the subject of homosexuality: "Ain't nobody straight in L.A./It seems that everybody there is gay"
Interestingly, although this album's cover depicted The Miracles'"star" on the Hollywood Walk Of Fame, the group didn't,at the time , have such a star back in 1976. However, life eventually did imitate art, as The Miracles were so honored with just such a star in Hollywood on March 20,2009. City of Angels reached 33 on the Billboard 200 albums chart in the United States, and peaked at number 29 on the Billboard Black Albums chart. The Miracles' City Of Angels was also a Platinum album with over 1 million records sold.

01 Overture
02 City of Angles
03 Free Press
04 Ain't Nobody Streight in LA
05 Night Life
06 Love Machine
07 My Name Is Michael
08 Poor Charlotte
09 Waldo Roderick Dehammersmith
10 Smog

bonus Love Machine (instr 7")
bonus Love Machine (long version)

City Of Angels 1975