Bobby & Laurie - I Belong To You (1965) MP3/Flac

altSort of a mishmash of the Beatles, Peter & Gordon, and the Everly Brothers, Bobby & Laurie were one of Australia's first and best responses to the British Invasion. Comprised of Bobby Bright and Laurie Allan (who were both guys), they released no less than eight singles and three albums in Australia in 1965 and 1966. Writing much of their own material, they were quite popular in their day down under, although they made no impact whatsoever on the international scene. Featuring close harmonies in the Beatles' style, they were actually one of the better British Invasion-inspired acts, outclassing many U.K. groups following in the Fab Four's footsteps. Leaning toward the tougher rather than the wimpier side of Merseybeat, they also roamed fairly far afield for their cover material, choosing relatively obscure U.S. R&B numbers and British beat B-sides and flops. Divided about equally between good original material and (for the era) surprisingly obscure and imaginatively chosen covers, Bobby & Laurie's debut LP was one of the best early British Invasion-style albums not to actually come out of Britain. While a gutsier Peter & Gordon might serve as a rough point of comparison, actually this duo had more of a full band sound, as well as a greater affinity with rootsier country and R&B influences. "Judy Green" is certainly one of the best Merseybeat-style tracks from outside of the U.K., but "Lucky Me" and "I Belong with You" aren't far behind in that department. If not exactly R&B rave-ups, "She Don't Know" and "It Ain't Fair" show they could rock in a convincing tougher style. A few other numbers hint at their future country direction, but even one of those, "I Won't Be Back," benefits from a spooky organ that never would have made it onto a Nashville record. Surely they must have been paying close attention to records coming out of the U.K. to cull for cover material that weren't exactly obvious choices, doing a good version of Heinz's "I'm Not a Bad Guy" and, more impressively, the Mojos' B-side "Give Your Lovin' to Me" (here retitled "Give All Your Lovin' to Me"), which they utterly outclass with a far tougher interpretation. The original Australian LP is quite hard to find, and though all the tracks are on the Australian CD compilation I Belong To You (Canetoad Records CD-009 / 1999), that disc itself isn't too easy to locate for non-Australians.
(review by Richie Unterberger, "All Music Guide")

This CD contains all the tracks from their debut album, their only E.P. from 1965, the first single of Laurie Allen's earlier group The Blue Jays and the first two 45's of Bobby Bright on the W&G label. You can also find their third and last album "Exposaic" on the Play It Again Max blogspot.

- I Belong To You
- Trouble In Mind
- Someone
- You Are Gone
- Judy Green
- Mojo Queen
- Crazy Country Hop
- It Ain't Fair
- I'm Not A Bad Guy
- Lucky Me
- She Don't Know
- Riding Hood
- I Won't Be Back
- Give All Your Lovin' To Me
- Strange Rain
- You Got It Off Me
- I'll Come Running To You
- Hold Me
- Goodnight Irene
- The Glory Of Love
- Wolf Man [by The Blues Jays]
- I Left A Broken Heart In Broken Hill [by The Blues Jays]
- Girls Never Notice Me [by Bobby Bright with The Strangers]
- There's A Great Day A'Comin' [by Bobby Bright with The Strangers]
- Defeated By His Heart [by Bobby Bright]
- You Won't Get A Chance [by Bobby Bright]

Get it here (Artwork included)