« He's back...
V.A. - Better Than The Beatles »
Little Boy Blues - In The Woodland Of Weir (1968)

Little Boy Blues - In The Woodland Of Weir (1968)

• On demand! (album available 128-320kbs)*    



Album Info

altThe 45s this Chicago punk outfit produced will be of more interest than their album. Of particular note were their interpretation of Donovan's Season Of The Witch and two fine fuzz punkers Great Train Robbery and I Can Only Give You Everything, which was recorded by several other bands in this era. The best source of these 45s is the compilation Chicago 60's Punk Vs. New Mexico 60's Pop (LP), which contains both sides of their first four 45s. The LP (Fontana SRF 67578) is a real hotchpotch of styles that doesn't hang together well. Most cuts feature orchestration and range from light Sgt Pepper chamber-pop through brassy R&B workouts to heavier fuzzed moments and pedestrian Fudge-like pomp... seriously arty and very '68. Two of the stronger album cuts were put out on the Fontana 45, which states that they are "from Fontana's album Can You Dig It (SRF-67578)" - presumably the original title for Woodland Of Weir. Is Love? is a punchy Left Banke-ish ditty except for a midpoint crescendo of noise, with gut-wrenching guitar. It's Only You is fuzzy acid-rock.
(taken from "Fuzz, Acid & Flowers")

One of my favourite garage bands that finally got the chance to cut "their" psychedelic album and screwed it up. The above review by Vernon Joynson really hits the point. By the time of its recording the only remaining member of the original line-up was bass and keyboard player Ray Levin, who was also responsible for the setting of the songs. The best thing you can say about this album is the nice fairyland cover, the fresh'n' breezy "Is Love" and, fair enough, the two late '60s rockers "Mr. Tripp Wouldn't Listen" and "It's Only You". There was also a CD release on the Acid Symposium label from 2001 that contains all their singles and the album, but it seems to be unavailable now. Better visit the Paradise Of Garage Comps site where you can get all their garage tunes from the EVA release.

The rip is from the original vinyl.

- Cathedral
- Is Love
- I'm Hip To You
- Mr. Tripp Wouldn't Listen
- The Death Of Don Quixote
- Jazz Is Love
- It's Only You
- Echoes Of "You"
- Dream Weaver
- Seed Of Love
- The Fox

Get it here (Artwork included / vinyl rip)


The album code is : ODI147299

VA - COLLECTION OF ELECTRONIC MUSIC - GOA | Arthur Verocai - | Teodor | Zippo | (Ads... Download) | , popsike , discogs , cdandlp , musicstack Osanna – Pape Satan Aleppe (2016) The Lew Thomas Band - Walks, Talks & Fallouts (2016) Wild Cherry - Wild Cherry (1976) Wild Cherry - Electrified Funk (1977) Locomotive Man - The Coming Storm (2015) Wild Cherry - I Love My Music (1978) VA - Elicuts Vol. 1 (2016) Future Beat Alliance - Hidden Emotion (2016) VA - Secret Map v.I (2016) Fleetwood Mac & Peter Green - Fleetwood Mac & Peter Green (2CD) (2008) Kay Webb Orchestra - Gitarrentraume In Gold (1979) Jack Fred with Band - Mood Music / Saxophon (2003) Golden Nightingale Orchestra - Golden Accordeon Melodies (1988) Achillea - The Nine Worlds (2005) MP3 + Lossless Lava "Lava" (1980) -Westcoast Jazz- Giuffria "Giuffria" (1984) - Melodic Rock- Mark Free "Long Way From Love" (1993) -AOR / Soft Rock- Giorgio Moroder Featuring Joe Esposito "Solitary Men" (1983) -Disco / Soft Rock- Rob Silvan & Fine Line "Leap Of Faith" (1996) -Soft Rock- Boy Meets Girl Music "The Wonderground" (2003) -Soft Rock- Various Artists "Re-Import (Guide Of The Japanese Music)" (1992) -Westcoast Rock- Various Artists "Love Stories 3" (1994) -Westcoast Rock- A Spice Of Ice - I Need Your Lovin' - Complete EP Nightlife Unlimited - I Love The Night In New York City - Complete LP Marva King - Feels Right - Complete LP Voyage - Voyage 3 - Complete LP Jean Adebambo - Feelings - Complete LP

You would like to permanently remove ads and unlock benefits?

We display ads sparingly on website to help cover costs without interfering with the browsing experience.
Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on OdiMusic. Register on OdiMusic allows you to access to the minimum resources, minimum advertising (no pop-ups),
if you choose to subscribe for one of our plans after registration you can acces more than 1.000.000 Albums, Maxi, Cds, Vinyls releases inside! (80% on demand) (requests, informations, images, tracklists, reviews, ask for supports & much more!!!)