Jeff Healy: Mess of Blues MP3/Flac

Jeff Healy: Mess of Blues
no comments
Jeff Healey's first blues-rock release in eight years, "Mess Of Blues" is primarily made up of recent studio recordings, a couple recorded live at his Roadhouse club in Toronto, and a couple recorded live at the Islington Academy in London. Though some like to think that great musicians are elevated to a status of eminent legend once they're deceased, that announcement would be redundant in Jeff Healey's case. He was already an authentic legend before the fact.
The disc is a collection of classic blues songs and a few good old bluesy rockers, most of which were live favorites of Jeff Healey fans. The album opens with a rollicking rendition of "I'm Tore Down," with Jeff's scorching lead work adorning the whole song. The band then slows it down for an eight-minute version of "How Blue Can You Get." They display an ability to connect in this slow blues classic, and show that they're at home in
authentic blues territory. The rhythm guitar playing of Dan Noordermeer and the keyboard work of Dave Murphy are prominent here. Healey drives it home in the latter part of the song with a sweet and terse lead solo, an attribute of a genuine bluesman.They take the atmosphere out of the city clubs and move it down to bayou country for "Jumbalaya," with bassist Alec Fraser on the vocals. The classic Americana song segues nicely into the earthy "The Weight," a respectful cover that easily would appease The Band and writer Robbie Robertson."Mess O' Blues" comes across as the pivotal blues song on the album, as solid musicianship completes this concise, vibrant number. Jeff's licks flow fluidly alongside his spirited voice. Pianist Dave Murphy is all over his own composition, "It's Only Money," vocally and instrumentally. His electrifying piano phrasing, in the vein of Jerry Lee Lewis, lights the room on fire. Jeff cuts loose in the latter part of the song with a scorching lead solo.An interesting rendition of Neil Young's "Like A Hurricane" transpires next, one of only a couple of tracks that stray from blues territory on the album. The band enters slow blues mode for "Sittin' On Top Of The World," which highlights the talents of both Healey and Murphy once again. The album is complete with a rollicking "Shake, Rattle, and Roll."Mess Of Blues is an exciting collection from the Jeff Healey Band. In the liner notes Jeff wrote: "I am most grateful to Thomas Ruf for making it possible for me to record this CD, a straightforward, straight-ahead collection of performances by a band of which I'm very proud to be a part."
1. I'm Torn Down 5:27
2. How Blue Can You Get 8:55
3. Sugar Sweet 3:46
4. Jambalaya 4:00
5. The Weight 4:26
6. Mess O' Blues 3:24
7. It's Only Money 3:09
8. Like A Hurricane 6:32
9. Sittin' On Top Of The World 6:58
10. Shake, Rattle & Roll 4:28

This album(s) is currently available for download only with a Premium account. To get a premium account, click here