Skip Martin - Miles High MP3/Flac

Skip Martin - Miles High

Artist: Skip Martin
Title Of Album: Miles High
Year Of Release: 2005
Genre: Jazz / Smooth Jazz
Bitrate: VBRkbps / 44,1kHz / Joint-Stereo
Total Time: 44:11 min
Total Size: 64.7 MB


01. Do Da
02. Smooth Sailing (Featuring Ronnie Laws)
03. Apropos
04. Are You Ready (Featuring Wayman Tisdale & Ricky Lawson)
05. I Give My Heart
06. Miles High
07. You Are My Starship
08. Are You Ready (Spoken Word)
09. Old School Rules (Featuring Al Mckay)
10. Moon Splash
11. Monster Bites
12. Apropos (Spoken Word)

The idea of Skip Martin’s first solo jazz project was pure and simple – “it was just time”. With a total of 26 album releases as lead vocalist with Dazz Band, Kool & the Gang and his own solo projects, Skip wanted to record a project where he did his ‘singing’ through his trumpet. “I’ve recorded with both groups in the horn section but never as a solo instrument” stated Skip. The result is ‘Miles High’ filled with hip, cool, funky, smooth jazz grooves. “You’ll definitely come away ... with ... a sense of what Miles might be doing musically if he were still with us.”(Scott O’Brien for ‘Are You Ready’ the debut single, with Skip on trumpet and vocals, Wayman Tisdale on bass guitar and Ricky Lawson on drums is “...a laid back blend of classic styles. If Freddie Hubbard and Donald Byrd were in the same band they would open their set with this tune...” (Gene Harris, Jr., MBA and Cat Lee for Ronnie Laws appears on sax on the ‘Smooth Sailing’ track in a beautiful trumpet and sax duet – ranging from sultry grooves to profound narratives. ‘Miles High’, the title cut, a tribute to Miles Davis written the night Miles died, clearly shows an insightful range of diverse influences from the modern jazz era known as the Miles Years. “... jazz that can appeal to the novice and seasoned listener...” (Enorman for soulpatrol. netradio) Al McKay of Earth, Wind & Fire comes through on guitar with the track ‘Old School Rules’ and Bruce Conti of Tower Power also on guitar is featured on ‘Careless Whisper’. The album includes the first recordings of spoken word poet Bronze Paragon on the tracks ‘Are You Ready’ (Spoken Word) and ‘Apropos’ (Spoken Word) – which just make you sit up and listen. “I’m very excited about this project” admits Skip Martin. “It took 2 years in the making with a few starts and stops but the journey was well worth the time”.

This album(s) is currently available for download only with a Premium account. To get a premium account, click here